[Skip to Content]

ASME Best Cover Contest 2018 Judges

Jacqueline Azria, Creative Director, Women's Health
Lisa Bain, Editor, Dr. Oz The Good Life
Christene Barberich, Global Editor in Chief and Founding Partner, Refinery29
Gail Bichler, Design Director, The New York Times Magazine
Debra Birnbaum, Executive Editor, TV, Variety
Dudley M. Brooks, Deputy Director of Photography, The Washington Post Magazine
Alison Brower, Deputy Editorial Director, The Hollywood Reporter
Maile Carpenter, Editor in Chief, Food Network Magazine/The Pioneer Woman Magazine
Armando Correa, Editor in Chief, People en Español

Julia Cosgrove, Vice President and Editor in Chief, AFAR Media
Maxine Davidowitz, Creative Director, Modern Farmer

John Clary Davies, Editor, Powder
Scott A. Davis, Creative Director, Vice President, AARP The Magazine/AARP Bulletin
Vanessa K. De Luca, Editor in Chief, ESSENCE
David DiBenedetto, Editor in Chief, Garden & Gun
Chris Dixon, Design Director, Vanity Fair
Jonathan Dorn, Chief Innovation Officer, Active Interest Media
Sid Evans, Editor in Chief, Southern Living
Edward Felsenthal, Editor in Chief, TIME
Leah Flickinger, Editor in Chief, Bicycling
Anne Fulenwider, Editor in Chief, Marie Claire
Michael Goesele, Creative Director, Newsweek
Henry Goldblatt, Editor in Chief, Entertainment Weekly
David Gray, Design Director, Out
Oriol R. Gutierrez Jr., Editor in Chief, POZ
Pilar Guzmán, Editor in Chief, Condé Nast Traveler
Scott Hall, Photo Director, Travel + Leisure
Stacie Harrison, Art Director, Kiplinger's Personal Finance
Erynn Hassinger, Design Director, Country Living
Erika Heet, Editor in Chief, Interiors
Peter Hemmel, Creative Director, Woman's Day
Maili Holiman
Elizabeth Hummer, Design Director, Harper's Bazaar
Josh Jackson, Editor in Chief, Paste
Mark Jannot, Vice President, Content, National Audubon Society
Clara Jeffery, Editor in Chief, Mother Jones
Darin Johnson, Creative Director, Car and Driver
Ellis Jones, Editor in Chief, VICE Magazine
Leo Jung, Creative Director, The California Sunday Magazine
Lucy Kaylin, Editor in Chief, O, The Oprah Magazine
Colin Kearns, Editor in Chief, Field & Stream
Christopher Keyes, Vice President and Editor, Outside
Anne Krueger, Editor in Chief, Parade
Amy Keller Laird
Grace Lee, Principal and Creative Director, Eight by Eight and Priest + Grace
Edward Levine, Creative Director, Psychology Today
Kate Lewis, Senior Vice President, Editorial Director, Hearst Magazines Digital Media
Dennis Lewon, Editor in Chief, Backpacker
Anthony Licata, Editorial Director, Bonnier Lifestyle Media
Shanti Marlar, Creative Director, The Hollywood Reporter
Hannah McCaughey, Design and Photography Director, Outside
Michael McCormick, Creative Director, Martha Stewart Weddings
Marshall McKinney, Design Director, Garden & Gun
Sabine Meyer, Photography Director, National Audubon Society
Sarah Gray Miller, Editor in Chief, Modern Farmer
Janice Min, Strategist, Eldridge Industries
Eric Mongeon, Design Director, Boston Magazine
Mark Montgomery, Senior Art Director, IEEE Spectrum
Mark Murrmann, Photo Editor, Mother Jones
Jim Nelson, Editor in Chief, GQ
Robert Newman, Creative Director, This Old House
Barbara O'Dair, Editor in Chief, Prevention
Justin O'Neill, Photo Director, Esquire
Stephen Orr, Editor in Chief, Better Homes and Gardens
James Oseland, Editor in Chief, World Food Books
Eric Ottinger, Design Director, Boys' Life
Alison Overholt, Vice President and Editor in Chief, ESPN The Magazine and espnW
Jennifer Pastore, Executive Photo Director, WSJ. Magazine
Mark Pillsbury, Editor, Cruising World
D.W. Pine, Creative Director, TIME
Dana Points
Jessie Price, Editor in Chief, EatingWell
Kit Rachlis, Senior Editor, The California Sunday Magazine
Tim Rasmussen, Director of Photography, ESPN The Magazine
Tim Rogers, Editor, D Magazine
Jeffrey Saks, Art Director, Columbia Magazine
Jenny Sargent, Photo Editor at Large, The Hollywood Reporter
David Schlow, Creative Director, Men's Journal
Matthew Schnipper, Managing Editor, Pitchfork
David Sebbah, Creative Director, Vogue and AD (Architectural Digest)
Dean Sebring, Chief Creative Officer, Worth
Tempy Segrest, Design Director, Coastal Living
Marianne Seregi, Design Director, National Geographic Traveler
Scott Seymour, Senior Art Director, The Chronicle of Higher Education, The Chronicle of Philanthropy
Katherine Bryja Shady, Design Director, Chicago
Don Share, Editor, POETRY
Elizabeth Anne Shaw, Editor in Chief, FamilyFun
Dawn Sinkowski, Photography Director, Martha Stewart Living and Martha Stewart Weddings
Emmet Smith, Creative Director, National Geographic
David Somerville, Creative Director, The Atlantic
Dr. Catherine M. Staub, Peggy Fisher and Larry Stelter Chair of Magazine Journalism, Drake University
Jon Steinberg, Editor in Chief, San Francisco Magazine
Richard B. Stolley, Senior Editorial Adviser, Retired, Time Inc. (now part of Meredith)
Scott Stossel, Editor, Magazine, The Atlantic
Matt Strelecki, Creative Director, Successful Farming and FFA New Horizons
Maria Streshinsky, Executive Editor, Wired
Bill Strickland, Editorial Director, Hearst Enthusiast Group, Bicycling and Runner’s World
Blake Taylor, Creative Director, Inc.
Ronda Thompson, Creative Director, ESSENCE
Matt Tierney, Design Director, Road & Track
Joshua Topolsky, Founder and Editor in Chief, The Outline
Allyson Torrisi, Associate Creative Director, Popular Mechanics
Liz Vaccariello, Vice President and Editor in Chief, Parents
James Van Fleteren, Creative Director, EatingWell
Sam Viviano, Art Director Emeritus, MAD Magazine
Ken Wangler, Creative Director and Lead Photographer, Concealed Carry
Susan White, Photography Director, Vanity Fair
Robert Wilson, Editor, The American Scholar
Hanya Yanagihara, Editor in Chief, T, The New York Times Style Magazine

Titles and affiliations listed were at time of judging